Reality + - 2022

Interaction, Virtual Reality, and Spatial Web

SCI-Arc VS 2741 01 - Fall 2022


Reality + investigates the potential of virtual worlds within architectural spatial research.

Let’s dive into the exciting universe of the spatial web! We navigate the agitated waters of online collaborative spaces by looking at existing platforms like Decentraland, Monaverse, and Sansar. We learned about the core structure of Web 3.0 and understanding virtual worlds through the lens of Angela Washko, McKenzie Wark, David Chalmers, Alexander Galloway, and Joe Hunting’s We met in VR.

As of September 2022, there are more than 500 companies that are building the metaverse, 300 more than September last year. During the pandemic virtual living, gaming, socializing, and trading has exploded, and McKinsey estimated the metaverse at a $5 trillion market value by 2030. Architecture is a field of spatial design, and it is time to jump into the design of online virtual spaces.

These online collaborative social spaces are modeled after iconic movie sets from production designers Hannah Beachler, Alex McDowell, Adam Stockhausen, and Nathan Crowley.

These metaverses are minted on Monaverse.





Check them out here
Reality + Lobby https://monaverse.com/spaces/reality-+-lobby?invite=TnpBMU16UXpNQTphc2lh
The Tale of Hanna Hall https://monaverse.com/spaces/the-tale-of-hanna-hall?invite=TWpnd01qTXpOZzphc2lh
Zeitgeist Dispatch https://monaverse.com/spaces/zeitgeist-dispatch?invite=T0RnNE5EZzVNdzphc2lh
Hanna Pink pool in the forest https://monaverse.com/spaces/pink-pool-in-the-forest?invite=TlRRek5ETXlOdzphc2lh
Chauncy's Living Room https://monaverse.com/spaces/chauncy's-living-room?invite=TVRjM01EZzBOdzphc2lh
Jenny’s Holiday Party https://monaverse.com/spaces/jenny's-budapest-hotel-lobby?invite=TlRnd056UTVOQTphc2lh
Dream Alley https://monaverse.com/spaces/salih's-backyard?invite=TmpjNE9UUTJNQTphc2lh
Somewhere nowhere https://monaverse.com/spaces/somewhere-nowhere?invite=T0RnNU1ESXpNZzphc2lh
Charlie & Chocolate Factory https://monaverse.com/spaces/charlie-and-chocolate-factory?invite=TnpNMU1EVTRNZzphc2lh
Chloe Black Panther Street https://monaverse.com/spaces/chloe-black-panther-street?invite=Tnpjek5UWTI6YXNpYQ
Anna's Spa https://monaverse.com/spaces/anna's-spa?invite=TkRrNE5qZzJNUTphc2lh
Dream Office https://monaverse.com/spaces/dream-office?invite=TWpreU9EVXo6YXNpYQ


Students work by SCI-Arc VS 2741 01 - Fall 2022 Students: Albarrak Salih, Chakhal-Salakhova Anna, Cheng Wei-Chun Jimmy, Cook Jenny, Huang Chenxi Chauncy, Leon Kimberly, Lin Sijie Chloe, Nyby Hanna Lovise, Park Hanna, Smirova Anastasia, Zhang Xinyu Dawson.
Yara Feghali / 2022